Tyler County Commissioners

The following individuals are serving six-year terms on the Tyler County Commission:


County Commissioner Duties

County Commissioners serve as the chief fiscal body for the county. They act as a quasi-judicial body, and make determination on property tax appeals. They are involved with the conducting of elections and economic development. West Virginia law gives County Commissioners jurisdiction over probate of wills, appointments of personal representatives, guardians, and fiduciary commissioners. These meetings must be held at the courthouse. Special sessions may be held throughout the year if called by the President of the Commission with the concurrence of at least one other commissioner. For additional information about the County Commission and it's duties, please see Chapter 7, Article 1 of the West Virginia State Code.


Boards and Commissions

County Commissioners appoint members to various boards and commissions at the local level as authorized by the legislature. Some of those boards include:

Extension Service Commission
Economic Development and Planning Commission
Library Boards
Homeland Security & OEM
Little Kanawha RC&D
Animal Control
Senior Citizens & Nutrition
Workforce Investment Board
Americans with Disabilities Act Committee
Communications Towers
Tyler County Public Service District
Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)
4-H Farm Community Center Association


Commission Committees

Extension Service Committee - Eric Vincent
Economic Development and Planning Commission - Michael Smith
Elections - Michael Smith, Eric Vincent & Lance Hickman
Libraries - Michael Smith
911 - Eric Vincent
Homeland Security & OEM - Michael Smith
Little Kanawha RC&D - Eric Vincent
MOVRC - Lance Hickman
Animal Control - Eric Vincent
Senior Citizens & Nutrition - Lance Hickman
Workforce Investment Board - Lance Hickman
Americans with Disabilities Act Committee - Eric Vincent
Court Security - Michael Smith
Tyler County Public Service District - Michael Smith
Tyler County Youth Camp - Lance Hickman
Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) - Michael Smith
Budget & Finance Committee - Eric Vincent, Lance Hickman & Michael Smith
Wetzel-Tyler Health Department - Eric Vincent


Regular Hours of Operation

The Tyler County Commission meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month from 9:00am to completion in the Tyler County Commission Room.

To be placed on the Agenda, please call no later than Thursday prior to regular scheduled meeting.


Contact a Commissioner

Mailing Address:

Tyler County Commission
P.O. Box 66
Middlebourne, WV 26149

Office Address:

Tyler County Courthouse
121 Main St.
Middlebourne, WV 26155

Phone: 304-758-4139
Fax: 304-758-2126

Get Directions


Tyler County Commission Budget